I hate It When I Lose

When I was a kid, my friends and I would go out to play. We played football, cards and so on. I never liked to lose, my friends did not like it either; we all played to win, no one among us ever wanted to be defeated, even when it was obvious that some will lose and some will win.

Some of my friends do cry whenever they were defeated in a game; some would cry to their parents and report to them, while some would terminate games and everyone would go home with regret. That is how we played our games when we were kids. It was always very sad to lose. Sometimes it ended in a fight, but the next day we would all come together again to play our games with a predictable outcome.

In this type of act, I was no different, although I did not cry most times I lost, I always went home in a devastated state, especially when we played football. Even while I was a teenager, I detested being defeated. I still remember 2010 when Inter Milan knocked Barcelona out of the UCL; it was as if I lost someone that was close to me, it was hard to eat and get over it especially when my friends made fun of me because I was the only Barcelona fan around.

I no longer do that now because I have learnt to deal with the most important things in life. But those times have shaped me and my childhood friends to become who we are today. We are struggling to achieve greatness and help our parents, we do not want to lose.

We already know how it feels to be defeated, and that is what we never tolerated, so we know how to deal with it. We work hard and have it in our minds that we are never going to lose, we do everything to win.

Most times I think of the reason why I have created a blog in the first place. I discover that I created it because I never thought that I will not be able to have time for it. The Yoruba people will say that: ‘he who jumps into the river willingly does not cry of the cold.’

So, I am into it now, I cannot stay away from it, I do not like being defeated, because that is what me and my friends stand for.

6 Comments

Leave a comment