How Serious Are You When You Are Praying?

Some students preaching the word of God walked up to me one day. They asked me if I was a Christian, I said yes. They also asked how many times I pray in one day, I said morning and night, then they asked me how serious I always am whenever I pray.

Praying to God is very important, and how we pray is much more important. Some pastors and other men of God do say that people who pray to God are more serious in their prayers whenever they are in one problem or the other. They pour their hearts out to God and they even cry whenever they really want something essential from God.

I have personally found this to be true. The times I like to pray is in the morning after waking up, and night before sleeping. Sometimes, I pray just for the sake of it, I pray because I have to do it since it has become a part of me; first, I thank God, ask for forgiveness, then ask God for protection and provision, but anytime am in trouble or hoping for a better result after an unconvincing exam, my prayers to God are always intense, sentimental, long and serious. Then after a good result or a permanent solution to my problem, I thank God for few days then go back to my former prayer routine.

Most humans pray ardently when they really need something from God and unzealously when they are comfortable, but it should not be like that. God expect us to pray fervently in any situation, be it good or bad.

Speaking in tongues is the first way to be sure that you are serious when you are praying. The Holy Spirit teaches us what needs to be said when we are praying (Luke 12:12). But speaking in tongues while praying can be hard for someone that does not have the Holy Spirit.

Praying with someone else or other people can make you serious when praying, although there are times you need to pray privately on your own; that shows how close your relationship is with God. Also, praying before you start feeling sleepy is good. It will not make you rush while praying or doze. The most important way of praying seriously is praying with a clear heart. When you are thinking of something that is very important to you at a particular moment, or that you are more enthusiastic about like, visiting a friend, eating your favourite food, watching your best program and so on, your mind will not really be connected to God when you are praying.

The best way to pray seriously is praying with a heart connected with God, and clearing your heart of all thoughts whenever you feel comfortable or you do not really need anything from God. Praying this way will make God listen to your prayers and give you the things you do not even expect, He will see that you honour Him above everything in your heart.

3 Comments

Leave a comment